Thursday, February 15, 2018

Doin' the SCAMPI Shuffle: Hello Benchmarking!

Editor's Note: This is first in our series about the upcoming release of CMMI v2.0 [Jeff]

Doin' the SCAMPI Shuffle!

What happens to SCAMPI in CMMI v2.0?

CMMI v1.3

If you're a follower of my blog, you know (and love) SCAMPI - the "Standard CMMI Method for Process Improvement," the globally adored standard method for conducting CMMI Appraisals resulting in a Maturity Level (or Capability Level) rating (ex. "ML4").

Actually, there are three different flavors of SCAMPI.  The best known is the SCAMPI A, or "Class A" appraisal.  This is the most rigorous appraisal, has a high evidence requirement, and is the only appraisal that can result in a Maturity Level Rating.

The other two are:

  • Class B, a less rigorous cousin of "A's" that is often used as a Readiness Appraisal or "system test" prior to conducting a Class A.
  • Class C, which is often used as an early gap analysis tool.  Both have their place, but don't result in a maturity level.

The entire objective of a SCAMPI appraisal, regardless of type, is to evaluate the process improvement infrastructure that an organization has deployed, and to identify, using evidence-based methods, opportunities for improvement.  As they say, "SCAMPI without Process Improvement is a SCAM."  Or something.

At some point, our friends in the government (followed by many commercial enterprises) started to require a successful SCAMPI A ("get a level") as part of their selection process, and that put the industry on a trajectory towards growing the number (and cost) of SCAMPI A Appraisals.

In fact, cost, primarily the internal kind, has become the #1 impediment to companies adopting CMMI, and since they don't adopt it, they often can't bid. See the problem?  Thanks, government.

Enter CMMI v2.0

Join us for CMMI v2.0 Training!

CMMI v2.0 is an entirely new, downsized, and improved model along with a shiny new (yet to be named) appraisal methodology.  All we know now about the name is that it won't be named "SCAMPI."

Instead of a SCAMPI A there'll be a "Benchmarking" appraisal.  That appraisal, like a CMMI v1.3 appraisal, will have a shelf-life of three years.

Then comes the "Sustainment" appraisal.  If the organization hasn't changed much, and they conduct one of there babies prior to expiration, they get to conduct a smaller, more efficient appraisal that is good for TWO years.  This is similar in concept to the ill-fated "SCAMPI-E" that never really got much traction in v1.3.

After that, we have the "Evaluation" appraisal.  This is similar to a Class C, or even a Class B, in that it doesn't result in a maturity level, but is open to tailoring, unlike the Benchmarking appraisal.

There are quite a few other changes - including how the sample will be generated, requirements of appraisal team members, and more.  I'll be back in a couple of days to write about those.

Meantime, if you're interested in learning more about the set of in-depth classes we are offering on the subject in May, click "CMMI v2.0 Training."

Like this blog? Forward to your nearest engineering or software exec!

Jeff Dalton is a Certified SCAMPI Lead Appraiser, Certified CMMI Instructor, author and consultant with years of real-world experience with the CMMI in all types of organizations. Jeff has taught thousands of students in CMMI training classes and has received an aggregate satisfaction score of 4.97 out of 5 from his students

Visit for more information about engineering strategy, performance innovation, software process improvement and running a successful CMMI program.

No comments: